McPherson Optimist Club

PO Box 293, McPherson, KS

Mid America Classic

The Mid America Classic is a high school girls basketball tournament hosted by the McPherson Optimist Club and the McPherson High School. The tournament is one of the McPherson Optimist Club's largest fund raisers of the year and provides for many of the donations we make for the youth of the community each year.

Prior Tournament Results


Jan 23, 2018

Check out all of the great items available in this year's Opportunity to Win at the Mid America Classic

1 ticket for $2
3 tickets for $5



Jan 30, 2017

After a somewhat 'one-sided' beginning Thursday, January 26th, to the 22nd annual Mid America Classic (MAC), the competition tightened up over the next two days. The tournament finished up Saturday evening with the Olathe South Falcons overtaking another 6A powerhouse, the Manhattan Indians, 50-38, to secure their 5th Classic title in as many tries.

The McPherson Bullpups garnered 3rd place, defeating the Valley Center Hornets 51-34, after succumbing to a devastating third quarter in the late game on Friday night with the Falcons to end up on the short end of 46-37 score. The Pups easily defeated Andale 66-18 in their Thursday night opener. Other two game winners in the tournament were Hays (57-36 vs Wichita SE); (28-25 vs Dodge City) for 5th place, Manhattan (83-37 vs Wichita SE); (56-29 vs Valley Center) for 2nd place.

Picking up one win each were Andale (61-48 vs Wichita SE) for 7th place and Dodge City defeating those same Andale Indians on Friday night, 41-32. The Valley Center Hornets secured their only win on Thursday afternoon over Hays, 49-42. Coach LaToya Randle's Wichita Southeast Buffaloes played some inspired, fast-paced basketball but couldn't secure a win in their third appearance in the MAC.

Special thanks to Danny Glidewell, the 'new' guy this year, in a Co-Director role. Kudos to all the committee chairs for a sharp, well-run tourney. Many folks, including coaches, players, administrators and officials, expressed their appreciation to this co-director over the course of the three days.

Thinking (not too hard) about the 23rd...

Jerry Fithian, on behalf of Kendall Shaw and the 'new' guy...

Thanks for all your hard work and



Jan 30, 2017

Round 1
Valley Center 49, Hays 42
Manhattan 83, Wichita SE 37
Olathe South 63, Dodge City 38
McPherson 66, Andale 18

Round 2
Hays 57, Wichita SE 36
Dodge City 41, Andale 32

Semi Finals:
Manhattan 56, Valley Center 29
Olathe South 46, McPherson 37


Andale 61, Wichita SE 48
Hays 28, Dodge City 25 (5th Place)
McPherson 51, Valley Center 34 (3rd Place)


Olathe South 50, Manhattan 38

All-Tournament Team

Taylor Robertson McPherson
Christianna Carr Manhattan
Makayla Gooch Olathe South
Gigi McAtee Manhattan
Tia Bradshaw Dodge City

Free Throw Contest Winners:
1st Lindsey Bartels - Olathe South 31/35 (won in shoot off)
2nd Jacy Anderson - Andale 31/35
3rd Katie Fross - Hays 30/35

Three Point Contest Winners:
1st Taylor Robertson - McPherson 20/30 points
2nd Gigi McAtee - Manhattan 18/30
3rd Tyler Winter - Andale 16/30

John Watkins Sportsmanship Plaque:


Feb 5, 2016

Round 1

Olathe East 44, Hays 20

Manhattan 44, Andale 30
Shawnee Mission Northwest 38, Wichita Northwest 25
McPherson 63, Shawnee Mission South 34


Round 2


Hays 45, Andale 30
Shawnee Mission South 59, Wichita Northwest 43

Semi Finals:
Olathe East 50, Manhattan 33
Shawnee Mission Northwest 42, McPherson 37




Shawnee Mission South 63, Hays 45 (Consolation Champs, 5th place)
McPherson 55, Manhattan 48 (3rd Place)
Andale 41, Wichita Northwest 38 (7th Place)



Shawnee Mission Northwest 33, Olathe East 31 (Overtime)

All-Tournament Team


Brenni Rose, Senior, Shawnee Mission Northwest
Taylor Robertson, Sophomore, McPherson
Sydney Wilson, Sophomore, Olathe East
Elizabeth Holmes, Junior, Shawnee Mission South
Madison Mittie, Senior, Manhattan

Free Throw Contest Winners:

1stShelbie McClain, Shawn Mission Northwest 31 of 35

2nd Ashtyn Schieferecke, McPherson 29 of 35
3rd  Cameron Kincaid, Olathe East 28 of 35 (won shoot-off)


Three Point Contest Winners:

1st  Taylor Robertson, McPherson  22 of 30 possible points

2nd Tyler Winter, Andale 17 of 30 possible points
3rd  Danielle Rehor, Shawnee Mission Northwest 16 of 30 possible points


John Watkins Sportsmanship Plaque:  Hays


Feb 11, 2015

The 20th Annual Mid America Classic mid-season girl’s high school basketball tournament was another huge success.  The event is co-sponsored by the McPherson Optimist Club and USD 418.

The first day saw the top 4 seeds roll to easy victories.  Starting off the day, Olathe South the    #2 seed defeated Hays 76-27.  That game was followed with #3 seed Manhattan besting Valley Center 57-37.  The evening session began with Andale, the only undefeated team entering the tournament, defeating Wichita Southeast 66-30.  Finally, host McPherson, the #4 seed, pulled away from Dodge City in the second half to advance to the semifinals with a 53-35 victory.

The consolation semi-finals began Friday with Valley Center defeating Hays 53-36 and Dodge City beating Wichita Southeast 47-35.

The winners bracket semi-finals brought 2 terrific games.  In the first game, Manhattan came from 10 points down in the second half, only to fall short of upsetting the Olathe South Falcons.  The final score was 54-50.  Then the closest game of the day saw the McPherson Bullpups hang on to defeat Andale 47-46, to hand  the Indians their first loss of the year.

Saturday’s 7th place game began with the only overtime game of the tournament, as Wichita Southeast won their second game of the year, defeating Hays 57-55.  The 5th place game saw Dodge City go home with medals as they beat Valley Center 47-38. The 3rd place game was a battle of the Indians, as Manhattan overwhelmed Andale 49-36.  The championship game ended with the Olathe South Falcons defeating the McPherson Bullpups 56-41, in a game that was a 1 point difference at half time, and was much closer than the final score.

The All-Tournament Team, as selected by the coaches was:

  • Kala Holder, Olathe South
  • Taylor Roberston, McPherson
  • Gigi McAtee, Manhattan
  • Rachel Friedrichs, Andale
  • Dejanae Roebuck, Olathe South


The results of the skills competition were:

Free Throw Contest Winners:

  • 3rd  Audra Schmeidler, Hays 30 of 35
  • 2nd Rachel Friedrichs, Andale 30 of 35 (won shoot-off)
  • 1st Kylee Kopatich, Olathe South, 32 of 35   (A special note: Kylee, a KU signee, had knee surgery prior to the season and is out of competition for the season.  She was still able to participate and win the free throw contest)



Three Point Contest Winners:

  • 3rd  Kyli Webber, Valley Center 15 of 30 possible points
  • 2nd Brooke Russell, Hays 15 of 30 possible points (won tiebreaker)
  • 1st Taylor Robertson, McPherson  22 of 30 possible points  (A special note:  Taylor is a freshman at McPherson)


John Watkins Sportsmanship Plaque:  Manhattan